[UPDATE 2] Road to Tempe 2015: It’s Happening!


Screen Shot 2015-10-17 at 3.45.11 AM

Update: Ragen is taking a break from practicing transitions in her Undress, complaining about the lack of triathlon gear for 300-400 lb women. She apparently plans to finish the race tomorrow. No confirmation of whether her bike is checked in yet.

Screen Shot 2015-10-17 at 2.27.19 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-17 at 2.33.21 PM

Screen Shot 2015-10-17 at 2.28.03 PM

Update 2: I’m told the frankenbike has been spotted in the transition area. Looks like this is really happening!

59 thoughts on “[UPDATE 2] Road to Tempe 2015: It’s Happening!

  1. Best I can guess she does actually intend to do this, and has no fucking clue just how out of her depth she is. Poor woman. I hope whatever happens tomorrow she enjoys it enough to make all this worth it.

      • Well, yes. Obviously. But she’s always struck me as someone with an over inflated sense of her own abilities and a shaky grip on reality.

  2. having just read that she has to be fished out of the water at the end of the swim, I have some doubts she will be allowed to start.

    • Future races where the swimmers can’t get out of the water under their own power will have a weight limit…thus proving her and her delusional world of fat shaming true. Never mind the 15 people it would take to hoist her out and the possibility of them all toppling in….

    • What do you mean ” fished out of the water? ” She can’t get out on her own? Why? Is there a really steep hill?

      What time does this race start?

      • apparently the swim takes place in a canal and the participants have to exit it via a ladder helped by the volunteers orso.

  3. I’m sure she has every intention of starting, but I’d bet my house she misses the swim cut-off and blames someone hitting her in the face on the start.

  4. There’s 160000 people I’m Tempe, 1.5 million in the greater Phoenix area. Most don’t even know this is happening so her wrist band is FAR from the “it” accessory.

    • I’ve proudly posted photos of my race number before now. Hell, the number from my first 50 finish id framed and on the wall. When you’ve trained for and dreamed of a race for months that’s part of the excitement. Sure, noone outside the race community gives a damn, but it’s a big deal for the racer.

      There are many things I’d criticise her for. Being excited about her wristband isn’t one of them.

      Waiting to see how tomorrow unfolds.

  5. So all you need to do to get the “it” accessory is pay a few hundred dollars and show up? And that is different from any other bracelet how?

  6. She posted on Facebook that she’s practicing her transition (nothing like being prepared) and she is going to totally strip down and take off her swimsuit and change into her biking clothes with help of the “undress.” I just KNEW she was going to use that thing. Of course, she has to make swim cut off first.

  7. Wait… costume change in 2 minutes?! There is so much wrong with that statement. First off, when speaking transition triathletes refer to the entire transition time, which usually is the time you enter the bike area to the time you leave. She only references changing out of her swimsuit into her bike gear. An average triathlete probably would lose ~1 minute to clothes/bike shoes. There is no way she is peeling off the swimsuit, adorning the undress, and stuffing her self into cycling shirt, shorts, and shoes then removing the Undress in under 10 minutes. 10 minutes doesn’t take into consideration that she will be exhausted from the swim, surrounded by people, bikes and bike gear… she is out of her mind. She is stealing money from the people who contributed to her go fund me.

  8. I’m surprised there’s no meltdown at not having a separate elite athlete check in. She’s checking in with the masses, like a plebe.

  9. Oh god. She is NEVER going to take off what wristband.

    Just like her other athletic “accomplishments,” her entering has the same merit as others finishing.

  10. Presumably if her wetsuit is there then her bike is there? Can’t imagine she flew her wetsuit and undress to her speaking engagement.

    Doesn’t the night before strike you as awfully late to be practicing this shit? When I did my first duathlon, I practiced transitions, including helmet on/helmet off and actually running off the bike weeks before the event. Needed to know what hairstyle would work for both running and biking, after all.

  11. “Doesn’t the night before strike you as awfully late to be practicing this shit?”

    What difference does it make? It’s not like a few minutes either way is going to make or break her.

    The race people should provide a girls’ changing room (and a mens’ changing room) where competitors who are not in a hurry can make a leisurely transition.

    • A half iron is a major commitment, it could consume a full year of one’s life. If you are serious about showing and finishing you’d practice transitions weeks in advance, further proving she is full of shit.

      • “If you are serious about showing and finishing you’d practice transitions weeks in advance”

        But why? If all you care about is finishing, why not take a leisurely 10 or 15 minutes to change? That’s what I would do, i.e. I would get out of the water, towel myself off, sit down and stretch a bit, have a snack and a bottle of water, change my clothing, and then go.

        Actually I’m pretty confident that without any special training (and weather allowing) I could finish a half-Ironman under the cutoff time wearing board shorts, riding a basic 10-speed bike, and stopping for nachos and a couple beers for each transition.

      • I think you’re right on being able to finish in time. Ragen definitely thinks it’s possible. And she’s actually trained, so I’m sure she’ll be fine even IF she has a slow transition. The DNF rate is only 7%, so you’d have to assume that even novice and unprepared people are actually finishing in time.

        Oh wait, that 7% is for Kona…an event where you have to first qualify and show that you’re a dedicated athlete willing to put in long hours of training. My bad.

        Half Ironman DNF are around 5%, with a DNS upwards of 20%. And that’s of people who thought they were also fit enough to finish AND believed it enough to actually sign up and pay for it. That sounds more like it.

        http://www.runtri.com/2011/02/marathon-and-triathlon-statistics-and.html

      • “Ragen definitely thinks it’s possible”

        The difference between her and me is that she is 3 times her healthy body weight. I think any thin, fit male between the ages of 20 and 60 could finish an Ironman in the allotted time without too much difficulty. Assuming that he’s capable of swimming.

  12. I like how her target time is “finishing”. So…does that mean that 18-24 hours+ is totally acceptable? I have no idea where this is being done, be it someplace that opens to traffic or what not, but you’d think one would have something more tangible. Even if it was ” finishing before the track closes/race ends”.

      • Wouldn’t that be a sight?? 12 bulky security guards hauling 350 lbs of her away, kicking and screaming, carrying on about discrimination and “haters”. I’d pay to see that.

      • If that happens, you can bet your ass she’ll ramble about it on her blog, calling herself a victim again.

  13. Still betting that “something” will happen during the swim, because its the easiest way to sneak out: due to the tons of people and chaos no witnesses and plenty of opportunity for “things to happen”, like a person/bird/orc/[insert arbitrary scapegoat] attacking her 😀 Once she is on the biking/running track everybody can watch her failing, that would be too bad -_-.

  14. @Sabril
    “Actually I’m pretty confident that without any special training (and weather allowing) I could finish a half-Ironman under the cutoff time wearing board shorts, riding a basic 10-speed bike, and stopping for nachos and a couple beers for each transition.”

    Really? I don’t know anything about you so maybe you’re super-fit and your comment is completely legit, but the Ironman / Half-Ironman cut-offs are tight enough to be of some concern to even a reasonably well-trained novice. Plenty of committed, fit people miss a cut-off at one of these events and if they’ve trained hard and done their best that’s nothing to be ashamed of.

    • “Really? I don’t know anything about you so maybe you’re super-fit and your comment is completely legit, but the Ironman / Half-Ironman cut-offs are tight enough to be of some concern to even a reasonably well-trained novice.”

      Perhaps I am overconfident, but the allocated times seem pretty slow to me. I don’t do any of these things regularly, but as an example, last month I did an 8 mile run in under an hour without any special training and without pushing myself, i.e. going at a nice steady sustainable pace. If I can run steadily at 8 mph without too much effort and without any special training, then I am pretty sure I can bike at 16 mph and swim at 1mph.

      • That’s a 7.5 min mile for 8 miles. I suppose it’s not impossibie without training, but it seems unlikely. More likely your course measurement is off. I agree with the above – nothing to be ashamed of in DNF’ing a half ironman. And if Ragen’s next post is ‘I gave it my utmost. It wasn’t enough. Next time I train harder.’ then I would have full respect for her.

        That also seems unlikely.

      • “That’s a 7.5 min mile for 8 miles. I suppose it’s not impossibie without training, but it seems unlikely. More likely your course measurement is off. ”

        Yes, and maybe the course measurement was off on 10k I did last year in 39 minutes and 30 seconds.

  15. Has anyone addressed the elevation change at all? Tempe is what, 1140 ft above sea level? She’s been “training” at sea level. While an elevation gain of 1100 feet may not be an issue for most people, I would have to imagine that at her size, and lets admit it, complete lack of said training, this will, more likely than not, be an issue for her. I went from running, biking and swimming at sea level to running in Colorado Springs (6,000 feet), so I am not exaggerating when I say she is going to feel like her lungs are trying to jump out of her chest. I will actually be surprised if she doesn’t have a major medical emergency and has to be taken away in an ambulance. Her body is going to be more starved of O2 than normal.

    • I see your point but it hardly seems relevant since she’s clearly in no shape to complete a half ironman at any altitude…

      • Of course not, but this *is* something an “elite” athlete would take into consideration and would include at lease some altitude training into their planning.

        I don’t see how one takes over 12 hours to walk a marathon and then thinks then can complete a tri in 8.5….The sarcasm that is dripping from these comments is getting all over my desk. Excuse me while I go clean it up.

      • Negligible for someone at normal weight? And is this someone just being at altitude or someone undergoing physical exertion and stress?

        “Furthermore, excess abdominal weight increases the likelihood of OSA and obesity–hypoventilation syndrome.8 These factors can exacerbate both hypoxemia and pulmonary hypertension which may increase an individual’s risk for developing HAPE.”

        http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/enhanced/doi/10.1111/j.1708-8305.2009.00369.x/

        Again, I get that Tempe is no where near Mt. Everest, but this is just obese people sitting around at altitude getting pulmonary edema. So at that point I think it starts to have an impact

      • Even at Ragen’s weight, it won’t matter.

        Tempe isn’t exactly the fittest city in America; there’s plenty of people there around Ragen’s size. I lived there from 2004-2010.

        If you’re going to cherry pick a study to make a mountain out of a molehill, at least try to do so quantitatively. In that study, the lowest region defined as “at altitude” was five times higher than Tempe.

        She’s going to fail (hopefully gloriously), but it won’t be the change in altitude that does it.

      • I didn’t cherry pick anything. Had I, I wouldn’t have included the link. I’m very aware of what the lowest altitude studied was, which is why I said that I know Tempe is not Everest. I could care less about the mountain or the molehill. She’s an idiot, plain and simple, and the people who giver her money are even more so. For all we know she isn’t even in AZ. Someone could have checked in last night and overnighted her the damn bracelet. And while I was taught to not wish harm on anyone because it will come back on you three-fold, it would be karma for her to have a coronary or a PE or something of that nature.

  16. Oh my lord. I live and train at 2000ft and there is zero altitude affect. Some people dont know when to back out gracefully.

Leave a Reply

