Ragen the Reposter

As noted in our previous update, Ragen has recently taken to deleting and reposting old blog posts rather than creating new content. Keep in mind Ragen claims she spends at least two hours every day writing a new post, and she encourages her readers to subscribe to her blog for $10/month. We invite our readers see for themselves what 60+ hours of a trained researcher’s time gets you for your $10.

August 29, 2013 vs. July 14, 2015

March 6, 2013 vs. July 10, 2015

November 12, 2012 vs. June 30, 2015

January 11, 2013 vs. June 27, 2015

December 6, 2013 vs. June 23, 2015

It’s absolutely fascinating to see how Ragen’s choice of language has evolved over the past couple of years with all the minor edits she makes to posts before reposting them. Substituting “body size” for “obesity”, inserting demonization of health care providers, deleting discussion of “healthy” foods, and so on. There is far more pandering to her target demographic in general.

In the last month, Ragen has written 20 Dances With Fat posts. Of these, no fewer than 7 were direct reposts of her greatest hits of 2012-2013, or else cobbled together from previous posts. She did her work trolling for news stories and was able to post 8 angry reactions to articles or blog posts full of her usual baseless rhetoric, and 2 further responses to her own posts. Only 3 of her posts could reasonably be described as new and unique personally created blog content, and even that is a real stretch. She also appears to have given up on her ultra low effort “Say Something Sunday” blog-padding posts.

In the same time period, Ragen has only posted three IronFat updates. The first is a reworking of an older Dances With Fat post, the second is a post about finding a new running coach with no training update, and in the most recent she makes some utterly absurd implications about her running abilities without outright stating anything she can be caught lying about.

As of this Saturday it will be exactly three months until the Arizona IRONMAN 70.3. Is Ragen so busy training for her IRONMAN that she has no time to create blog content for her paid subscribers? You certainly wouldn’t know it from her usual lack of training updates.

18 thoughts on “Ragen the Reposter

    • I have seen various posts looking similar to the one Ragen did, and the one you’ve linked to. On Reddit I even wrote a long post about how I would blog a training session to give the relevant details, points which readers would want to connect with, a way of assessing performance and a way ahead. Even I as an occasional blogger could put together maybe 1,000 words once or twice a month to give the story of how I train (I did an epic ride this week which I intend on blogging about). It’s a shame that Ragen reads the Reddit posts, then just copies a very low impact fluff piece rather than actually committing to doing any training.

    • I wonder if swimbikemom is aware of this. If I found someone like Ragen was plagiarizing my posts, I’d feel sick.

      By the way, blog poster–you said Dances With Facts a couple times when you meant Dances With Fat. It was actually kinda funny, visualizing Ragen writing a post like this.🙂

  1. If she is training that much, she will show up having lost significant weight.

    If she is not training that much, she will be unable to complete a single leg of the race.

    Those two things are absolutely mutually exclusive.

  2. The IRONFAT webpage says IRONMAN Arizona 2016- not 2015. But I can’t find anything scheduled in Arizona for 2016. So I guess this is a typo.

    Yeah, you’d think there’d be a lot more one could write about the training for such an event. I’ve known a few folks who participate in such events. Training takes up a whole lot of their off-work time. It’s a commitment, for sure.

    Such training would more than likely cause a body to drop a fair amount of volume. However, the building of muscle during training could counter this such that the scale difference would be less than expected. If anything, I’d expect Regan to discover that she needed to procure smaller sized clothing/wetsuit for the event. Assuming the training is as extensive as needed to actually participate in an IRONMAN event.

  3. Okay, so I have been binge-reading this stuff on IronFat since I found it on another site. I just have one question, and that is, “IS SHE FRIGGEN SERIOUS?”. Because this all seems like a lot of poseur bullshit. Even training for non-Iron tris takes a lot of time and dedication, and like others have said, you can’t help but have your body change if you’re doing this stuff (speaking from personal experience here).

    And I have a question for all the actual IMs, since the googlemachine isn’t helping me out too much: can she not be pulled *before* she even starts? Is there not a weigh-in etc?. If not for that, I am pretty sure that bike isn’t race-legal.

    From the IM site:
    “I am a physically challenged or hand cycle athlete. How do I register?

    As athlete safety is our number one priority, we urge you to contact the event directly via the race website prior to registering.”

    She certainly qualifies as physically challenged, so has she looked into that?

    “Q: I’m trying to set realistic expectations. What are ballpark race times for a typical beginner?

    Pro IRONMAN 70.3 athletes finish their races in under four hours, while the final finishers will take about eight hours, with lots of competitors finishing in between. In an IRONMAN race, the winners typically take just over eight hours. To be an official finisher you need to complete the race inunder 17 hours.

    Since she mangled a marathon in what, 12 hours, what makes her think she can do this having not ridden a single bloody mile on Frankenbike???

    I’m very aware as a relative newbie in tris to stay the *#&@ out of the way of the iron-guys (who are often on the same course, lapping me!). Since she clearly doesn’t care about her own safety, what about the safety of the other people who have legit put in the effort to be there?

    Sorry about the rant, but THIS BITCH.

    • No, she can’t. She’s moderately accomplished, AND SHE’S DANCING WITH HER INSTRUCTOR on the only video that shows any degree of skill. You’ll see better WCS dancers in any major city. In fact, I’m much better than she is, and WCS isn’t even my dance style. She’s a better-than-average amateur competitor, but her size means that she can’t stop, she can’t spin, and she can’t turn well, aside from her overall ability.

      Just like any other physical activity, a dedicated dancer will get better and SLIMMER AND FITTER through sheer calorie expenditure.

  4. I love the WCS video. I do east coast swing recreationally, and that video blows me away. Looks to me like she’s spinning and stopping and turning just fine. Then again, I’m not a pro. My reaction is really just one of someone who doesn’t dance competitively. I love her particular style in that video, and I also love seeing someone of size dancing that well.

    As for the statements that if she were a dedicated dancer, she would lose weight, my comment is that’s not necessarily true. It depends on your metabolism and how much you eat. Scientific research on activity show that exercise alone induces very modest weight loss. And if you eat more after exercising, you won’t lose at all.

    Personally, as a overweight athlete, I love Ragan’s philosophy that sports should be done for the joy of it, not just to lose weight. That rocks. However, I am disappointed in Ragan’s lack of information and disclosure on why activity doesn’t result in weight loss for her, or if it does at some times and not at other times, why? I started reading the blog, was jazzed by the videos, but disappointed in the scant info in the posts about Ironman.

    I personally am in the process of figuring out what does allow my own body to shed weight without going on a calorie-counting diet. I already know that calorie counting is not sustainable for me in the long run, and I also know from about eight years experience that vigorous bicycling about 12 hours a week (my favorite sport) causes only very minimal weight loss for me…I’ll typically drop maybe 5 pounds over a five month bike season. Recently I’ve been having a lighter dinner and adding an hour or two a day of light recreation, such as walks along the ocean, and I am very happy with the results…but just to say, what it takes for me is way more than just dedication to a single sport.

    I’m too shy to post my own experience in a blog, and in any case it’s a bit early for me to declare any kind of victory since losing weight is the easy part–keeping it off is the bear. But I would love it if other fat athletes did post more info on how activity affects, or doesn’t affect their weight, how they maintain the loss etc. If it was as simple as ‘be active and you get thin’ it wouldn’t be interesting. But in fact, it is much more complicated than that and that’s why I’d love to see more written about it

  5. Ragen eats a great deal of junk food. Thus, no weight loss. If calorie counting is not sustainable, why not? Portion control–ie, knowing how much you actually eat–is a useful thing. Binge eating is not.

  6. @belinda, unless you’ve lost 50+ pounds and maintained it for five years, you probably aren’t qualified to give weight loss advice.

    To fat people, you sound just about like a weekend drinker saying to an alcoholic, hey it’s easy, just have one beer on Friday nights and you’ll be fine. Uh, not so much.

    The overwhelming evidence shows diets, even healthy diets, don’t work for most people long-term. The reasons for that aren’t fully understood. If you’re not familiar with this research, for a lay summary, check out Tara Parker-Pope’s NYT story the Fat Trap. http://www.nytimes.com/2012/01/01/magazine/tara-parker-pope-fat-trap.html?_r=0

    For the other side of this, I’m currently reading a book called Thin for Life by Anne M. Fletcher, which tells the stories of “masters” or people who have managed to lose large amounts and keep it off. There is hope. But Belinda, unless you’re a Master, probably best not to take the attitude that it’s easy. You gotta walk in the shoes first.

Leave a Reply

